Where I’ve Been, Where I Am, Where I Want to Be

“I don’t know where I’m going, but I sure know where I’ve been

Hangin’ on the promises and the songs of yesterday

But I’ve made up my mind, I ain’t wasting no more time…”

Okay, enough with the Whitesnake reference. I just couldn’t help it — it was the first thing that popped into my head when I thought of the title for this post!

So, I haven’t written in a while.

I’ve written plenty of essays and research papers so far this semester, of course, but I haven’t really connected with my inner writer in a very long time…I think she disappeared somewhere. Poems once flowed from my brain to the page in steady little streams and I was inspired every time I walked outside, even if it was just on my way to class. I would sit in bed at night and craft groups of words into something that made me tingle, something I was proud of. I don’t know where that creative ease went or how to find it, but I need it desperately right now. Without it, my essence feels incomplete.

Where have I been? Who am I? School kind of engulfed me and I don’t really know anymore. I was so consumed by the stress of assignments and managing my schedule that I was running on empty every day. It felt like the world was out of focus.

But now the semester is over and I have a few days to finally relax (I forgot how to do that) and do the things I enjoy before I take my finals. The promise of summer in one week has me feeling a bit like my old self again! I hope my creative spark comes back with the free time and warm weather.

This summer I’m embarking on an adventure that I have such a positive feeling about! I think it will push me out of my comfort zone and help me grow in ways I can’t even imagine. It’s also been a lifelong (okay, half-lifelong) dream of mine to travel to this place, and now that the details are all confirmed I keep entertaining visions of what it will be like to live and intern there for two months! I CANNOT WAIT!!!

So to sum it all up: this year went by in a blur but I am starting to feel grounded in reality again. Blog posts will be back regularly (hopefully) as soon as I’m done with junior year. I love my family and friends dearly for supporting me on my upcoming journey. I’m super excited about life and all the opportunities that await!

“Here I go again on my own…”

Stay free! xo

—- Morgan

P.S. West Coast, I hope you’re ready for me…

 

 

Leave a Reply

